How To Obtain an Ohio CHL

The following is a brief description of the Ohio Concealed Handgun License (CHL) application process. Application and licensing is governed by ORC 2923.125. Law changes frequently and should be referred to in order to ensure you comply.

Ohio is a shall issue state. This means if you meet the requirements to obtain a CHL, the sheriff must issue you a CHL within 45 days. In order to obtain an Ohio CHL you must:

  1. be at least 21 years old,
  2. pass an FBI background check for felonies, violent and drug related misdemeanors, mental adjudications, and active orders of protection,
  3. have read the Ohio Attorney General’s handbook on concealed carry laws and application, and
  4. complete an approved training course (NRA or OPOTA) consisting of no less than 10 hours of classroom and 2 hours of range time or be an honorably discharged Veteran separated in the last six years.

Once you have completed the course, take a completed application form and your training certificate to your county’s sheriff or the sheriff of an adjacent county. The sheriff will charge you an application fee based on your length of Ohio residency ($67 if you have lived in Ohio continuously for the past 5 years; $91 otherwise).

Some sheriffs do not process applications during all hours the office is open. Some sheriffs require an appointment to apply. Call your sheriff to learn how they process applications. This will ensure a smooth process.